Mount Allison’s Women & Gender Studies Association is organizing an author talk and evening of performances featuring Halifax-based author Kaleigh Trace. Trace, who works as education coordinator for Venus Envy, a Halifax-based sex shop, is the author of Hot, Wet, and Shaking: How I Learned to Talk about Sex. Volunteer reporter Katharyn Stevenson spoke with Trace about her work as a feminist sex educator.

“We’re all being fed this idea that is really specific and narrow, that sex has to look a certain way,” says Trace, “I think it’s really damaging to believe something that we can’t necessarily attain. And so I’m passionate about doing sex ed because I want to re-write that script that I think is so hurtful for a lot of people.”

The author talk and performance takes place at Thunder & Lightning at 7pm on November 22.

hotwetshaking-cover