CHMA Radio in conjunction with Struts Gallery Artist-in-Residence

Zachary Gough (Portland)

http://zacharygough.ca/

RADIO SCHOOL: Community generated unique programming for engagement / connection / education amongst people like you and me . . .

gough

from an interview with Alana Bartol:

“You are doing three residencies over the next several months: Klondike Institute of Art and Culture in Dawson City, Yukon and Sackville’s Campus Community Radio CHMA in partnership with Struts Gallery in Sackville, New Brunswick, in addition to Neighbourhood Spaces. When entering into a community, what are some of the considerations for developing a project? How do you build trust and interest with communities?

This will be easier to answer once the residencies are over! I’m learning, slowly and surely, to find the right balance between artistic vision and responsiveness. First, I need to have some inkling of what might be a good project in these communities. I lived in Sackville, have visited Dawson and grew up in Southern Ontario so I know a bit about these communities. [I will] develop a project as thoroughly as I can on my own, and finally abandon it completely before going there. The idea of entering into a community to do a project is such a colonial action if it’s not carried out with a large degree of openness and responsiveness. Does this community even want you there at all? “